At Dent C of E Primary School we aim to maximise learning for all our pupils through the provision of an engaging and inspirational curriculum for pupils in Reception through to Year 6.  We follow the Early Years Curriculum in Reception and have embedded the National Curriculum throughout the rest of the school.

Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is split into seven areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Literacy (LY)
  • Mathematics (MA)
  • Understanding of the World (UTW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

The EYFS is usually offered discretely in the morning with a range of opportunities for continuous provision (in and outdoors), developing the children’s abilities across the different areas of learning.  In the afternoon, EYFS and the rest of Key Stage 1 pupils join together for creative, skills based learning which is led by a variety of subject specialists and the class teacher.

Key Stage 1

We have a 2 year rolling programme in Key Stage 1 due to a mixed age class of Year 1 and 2 children.  A cross curricular, themed approach brings learning to life and allows flexibility and curiosity for pupils to gain skills through a creative approach to learning.

Great care is taken by our staff to personalise all aspects of learning to support the pupils and their individual needs.  Behind this rolling programme are schemes of work which give more detailed teaching activities and learning outcomes for each subject. Please see attached link for more information.

Key Stage 2

The children in Key Stage 2 are taught in a mixed age class of Year 3 to Year 6 pupils and subsequently have a 4 year rolling programme through the Foundation subjects and a two year one through the Science curriculum. A creative, skills based, yet personalised approach to learning is always a priority across the key stage so that our pupils are engaged, challenged and curious about their learning.

%d bloggers like this: